Faculty & Staff

Our 18-member staff and average 6:1 student‐to‐teacher ratio enable us to provide personal attention for every student.  With an average teaching experience of 10 years, the faculty ranges from veterans with more than 20 years of service to those beginning their teaching careers. 50% of instructors hold an advanced degree in their field.

muehl.JPG

Anthony Muehlberger

Mathematics & Science

Dean of Faculty

BA University of Notre Dame

anthony.muehlberger@emersonprep.org

Jae Young Lee, M.S.

Math Teacher

jae.lee@emersonprep.org

bigger.JPG

Leonard Wayne, M.S.

Math Teacher

leonard.wayne@emersonprep.org

Arnold Thomas Bigger

ENGLISH & LITERATURE

Academic Administrator

BA University of DC

MA George Washington University

arnold.bigger@emersonprep.org 

Emily Feldman, M.A.

English Teacher

emily.feldman@emersonprep.org

Turnipseed_Erica S.38_preview.jpg

Erica Turnipseed

English& Literature

Yale University, BA

Columbia University, MA

erica.turnipseed@emersonprep.org 

malone.JPG

Forrest Malone

Social Science

BA American University

forrest.malone@emersonprep.org

 
Evo.JPG

Elizabeth Early von Oehsen

visual Arts & Media

BFA Rhode Island School of Design

elizabeth.vonoehsen@emersonprep.org

DSC_1050.JPG

Susanne Ward

Computer Science & Robotics

susanne.ward@emersonprep.org

Reinhart_Andrea30_preview.jpg

Tim Hampton

Digital Media Teacher

tim.hampton@emersonprep.org

Andrea Reinhart

School Counselor & Admissions Officer

BA Metropolitan University

MA Minnesota State University

andrea.reinhart@emersonprep.org

Blackburn_Karlene5_preview.jpg

Karlene Blackburn

Registrar & Administrative Assistant

BA George Mason University

MBA Strayer University

karlene.blackburn@emersonprep.org

Ana Umaran

Spanish Teacher

ana.umaran@emersonprep.org


Leadership

Emerson Prep operates under the President/Headmaster model. The President reports directly to the Board of Directors and is responsible for the operational affairs of the school including fund raising and strategic planning. Those reporting directly to the President are the Head of School, the Associate Head of School and the Director of Facility Operations.  The Head of School is responsible for the day-to-day academic programs, teachers and the overall school community. 

IMG_2142.JPG

 

Dr. Peri-Anne Chobot

President & Head of School

peri-anne.chobot@emersonprep.org

Dr. Peri-Anne Chobot joined Emerson Preparatory School as the President and Head of School on July 1, 2018.

Prior to joining Emerson, Dr. Chobot served as Head of School at Commonwealth Academy in Alexandria, VA and the CEO and Head of School of The Kingsbury Center in Washington, DC. While at Kingsbury, she implemented innovative educational programs in the Day School; updated technology and infrastructure; strengthened the curriculum with AP classes and entrepreneurial studies; standardized professional practices; added faculty professional development; directed a successful 75th anniversary fundraiser; implemented a teacher exchange program; secured grants for technology and greatly strengthened institutional advancement and marketing and communications.

Her “Students First” philosophy has guided her since her first day of teaching. An experienced educator and administrator, Dr. Chobot also previously served as a Wethersfield, Connecticut School System Administrator for K-12 Curriculum, Guidance and Teacher Training, which included a district-wide initiative for differentiated instruction and intervention. She has extensive education credentials in both public and private school systems at all levels, and is skilled at working with a wide range of learning styles within diverse constituencies of students and parents.

Peri-Anne holds an Educational Doctorate degree in Administration Leadership for Teaching and Learning from Walden University in Minnesota, a 6th year degree in Educational Administration and a Master’s degree in Bilingual/Bicultural Education, both from the University of Connecticut and has an undergraduate degree in Education/Spanish from Eastern Connecticut State University. She was elected to the Board of Directors of Community Residences, Inc. in 2016 and currently serves as the Vice Chair of the Board and Chair of the Governance Committee. 

 
shick.JPG

Jon Shickler  

Director of Admissions and Advancement

jon.shickler@emersonprep.org

Mr. Jon Shickler brings over 20 years of experience in teaching to his position as Director of Admissions and Advancement. As a teacher, his primary fields are composition and literature, and writing across the curriculum, having spent several years in the Northwest Pennsylvania Writers' Project. 

Since joining Emerson in February 2008, he has served as the Interim Head of School, Associate Head of School, a faculty member, and Dean of Students. He holds an MA in English Language and Literature, as well as, a BA in Professional Writing from Gannon University, and has completed additional graduate work at the Catholic University of America, a move, which happily led him to Washington DC, where he lives with his wife and two children.  

 
Muelberger_Anthony25_preview.jpg

Anthony Muehlberger

Dean of Faculty

anthony.muehlberger@emersonprep.org